City Lights

pexels-photo-230704.jpeg

The city lights battle against the stars.

And rain trickles down, blending with her tears.

Dissonant screams from out of tune guitars.

And God is weeping, I’d wasted her years.

 

I had expressed love, she did not retreat.

Actions obliged, bonding this realism.

Her heart broke, leaving her cries in the street.

Rainbow in her eyes, a bleeding prism.

 

God wept, she wept, I feel no pain or grief.

Sulking is the night, emotional strain.

I buried my pains deep, deep, deep beneath.

I watched these emotions flow down the drain.

Her heartbreak severe, neither do I care.

A whispered melody flourished the air.

 

-2013

Leave a Reply

